Somewhere Over the Rainbow Garland

The hero has officially given me permission to start planning the minion’s first birthday party.  I’ve been unofficially planning since before she was born.  Anyways, we decided on a rainbow theme.  Ok, I decided, but the hero approved and the minion doesn’t know what’s going on anyways.  I have been wanting some reusable party decorations so I don’t have to waste streamers and balloons for every party, so I decided to make some garland.  I figure rainbow colors can be used for pretty much anything festive.

DSCN7594 DSCN7608

I made two, they are both about 10 feet long.  I need to look around our house at where I plan to put them most often and make sure that’s a good size.

My mom and I do a lot of crafts using felted sweaters and we have a lot of scraps.  On a side note the pavlovinator loves to curl up in our scraps.  Basically I just took various shades of red, orange, yellow, green, blue, and purple and stitched them together using the sewing machine.  The shapes are rough rectangles just hand cut and they are overlapped a bit so the stitching holds better.  I did have to go back and redo a few of the overlaps that didn’t quite catch.  Then I did another line of stitching in a thin zigzag to make it a bit more sturdy.  That’s it.  It would be pretty easy to add more or cut off some if needed.  You could also do a similar thing with circles of fabric, stars, or other shapes.

2 thoughts on “Somewhere Over the Rainbow Garland

  1. Pingback: A Quick List of Things to Make from Scrap Fabric | Fortress of Crunchitude

  2. Pingback: Shades of White Garland | Fortress of Crunchitude

What do you think?

