Honeysuckle Vine Wreath

Next to grass, honeysuckle might be the most difficult weed in my garden.  It doesn’t attack my vegetables, but it LOVES my fig tree and muscadine vines.  I do like the honeysuckle flowers and have fond memories of drinking the nectar as a kid.  In fact we even wrote in the minion’s baby book when she had her first taste of honeysuckle.  However, they only bloom for a few weeks out of the year.  The rest of the time, I don’t like them.

I did find another use for those creeping vines today.  I made a wreath out of them.  It hasn’t dried yet, but I don’t foresee any problems.

DSCN7834

First I cut some vines and stripped the leaves off of them.  Next I wrapped them into wreath shapes.  I twisted various vines around each other for the large one, but just one each for the fairy sized ones.  I made three little ones for fairy houses and one big one for people houses.

DSCN7837 DSCN7840

There are some thick ends sticking  out of the circles that I will clip once they dry.  I left them all flat on our porch and it probably will take a few days, but hopefully they will dry into the shape and be awesome and rustic.

3 thoughts on “Honeysuckle Vine Wreath

  1. This is an awesome idea for honeysuckle. Our region is covered in it. I’d never thought of using the vines like this in decor before. Thanks for sharing this handy idea. :)

  2. Pingback: Honeysuckle Vine Wreath: Finally Dry Edition | Fortress of Crunchitude

What do you think?

