String of Habanero Peppers

All the peppers are coming in right now so I decided to string up some of our Habanero peppers for them to dry.  Just another method of food preservation.

It’s pretty easy to do.  I threaded a large embroidery needle with embroidery floss (red because it goes so well with the orange peppers).  I doubled it over and tied a big knot in the end.  Then I threaded each pepper through the stem leaving a bit of room between each.  When I got all the peppers threaded on, I cut the needle off and tied the two strands together forming a loop.  I hung my string of peppers by that loop.  Now all I have to do is wait for them to dry.

You could easily do this with any hot pepper.  I have some cayenne peppers that I might do this to also.  Maybe ghost peppers too…

DSCN8913

 

What do you think?

