How to Make Pumpkin Purée

I tried to grow pumpkins in the garden this year.  I had visions of our porch at Halloween covered in pumpkins and cans upon cans of pumpkin purées and butters.  We got one pumpkin.  The vines are still out there so I guess we could get another, but I think we might end up with just the one.

But that one pumpkin got us two jars of purée at least.

DSCN8916 DSCN8919

Cut your pumpkin in half and scoop out the innards.

DSCN8927 DSCN8932

Then put them flat side down on a baking sheet and bake for 40 minutes at 350º F.  When they’re done, take them out and let them cool before cutting the rind off and purée in a food processor.  Et Voila, pumpkin purée.  I used one of my pint jars to make a pumpkin pie and the other I plan to freeze.  It’s not as orange as commercial pumpkin purée, but so much yummier!

What do you think?

