Egg Salad Without Mayo

I really don’t like mayonnaise, but I do like egg salad.  Here’s my version that doesn’t use mayo along with my serving suggestion of a sandwich.

DSCN9445

Egg Salad Sandwiches

6 hard boiled or baked eggs

3/4 cup dill pickles (we made these from cucumbers from the garden last summer)

1 1/2 cup cottage cheese

6 or so leaves of arugula lettuce (about the only thing that sprouted in our garden this winter)

12 slices of sandwich bread (bonus points for homemade bread)

Chop the eggs and pickles into small chunks and then mix them and the cottage cheese together in a big bowl.  You can play around with the ratios to taste.  Make 6 sandwiches with a scoop of the egg salad and a layer of arugula leaf.

I think it turned out really well.  My dad, who doesn’t like egg salad, even said it was “alright”.  Since his highest endorsement is “pretty good”, I’ll take that as a compliment.

What do you think?